What are the DUI Penalties?
DUI Attorney for Kitsap County
Driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs is an offense that is taken
seriously in the state of Washington. An offense can lead to a number
of damaging outcomes and the effects can stem to many areas of your life.
Many people don't understand the many ways that you can fight a charge
and they end up taking on the penalties when they may have had a strong
case. Allow our
Kitsap County criminal defense lawyer at
Ramirez & Walker, Inc. to evaluate your case to determine if you have been falsely accused or
are being penalized more than you deserve.
Contact us today to learn more about how
our firm can help defend you.
First Time DUI
DUI offense can seem to come out of nowhere and you may have thought that
you would never be in this position. Thousands of people face charges
for drinking and driving and this includes individuals from all walks
of life. It can include doctors, CEO's, teachers and others that are
wrongfully accused or are penalized more than they should be. For a first
time offense it is important not to fall into the thinking that you cannot
fight a charge because there are many cases where charges are reduced
or fully dropped.
Penalties for a First Time DUI can include:
- Between 24 hours to a year in jail
- Fines of $865.50 to $5,000
- The installation of an ignition interlock device
- A license suspension of 90 days
- Alcohol or drug education
- Washington SR22 Insurance
Second and Third Offense
Penalties for a Second Time DUI can include:
- License suspension for two years
- Jail time between 30 days to a year
- Fines of $1,120.50 to $5,000
Penalties for a Third Time DUI can include:
- Between 90 days to a year
- Fines $1,970.50 to $5,000
- License suspension of three years
For those that have a blood alcohol content (BAC) level that is at or above
.15, the penalties for even a first time conviction can be substantially
Are you facing the possibility of a conviction for drinking and driving?
Get in touch with us immediately.