Take Every Precautionary Step to Help Protect Your Future
In Washington, assault generally refers to the intention to harm another person, regardless of whether a violent act actually took place. Whether you were acting in self-defense or in aid of a friend, or you were simply in the wrong place at the wrong time, we believe it is our duty to listen to your side of the story and to make sure it gets heard.
At Ramirez & Cooper, Inc., we're the right people to keep you out of the wrong place—jail. Our firm utilizes a “hands-on” approach to the law, and we do so with discretion, professionalism, and finesse. With more than 30 years of combined experience, our attorneys are recognized as leaders in criminal law. We use proactive defense strategies to provide you the immediate help you need after an assault and battery arrest or after an aggravated assault charge.
What Are the Assault Laws in Washington?
According to Washington code RCW 9A.36, assault is categorized into four degrees with Assault in the first degree being the most serious charge. Assault can be charged as:
- Assault in the First Degree: Charged as a Class A Felony
- Assault in the Second Degree: Charged as a Class B Felony, unless sexual motivation is found in which case it is charged as a Class A Felony
- Assault in the Third Degree: Charged as a Class C Felony
- Assault in the Fourth Degree: Charged as a Gross Misdemeanor, unless domestic violence was proven in which case it is charged as a Class C Felony
What are the Penalties for Assault?
Under Washington state law, assault can be classified as a physical altercation or even just a threat of violence or harm. When firearms or weapons that can bring harm are used to aid in the assault, then the penalty can be much more severe.
For a gross misdemeanor charge of simple assault, you could face:
- 364-days in jail
- A $5,000 fine
On the other end of the spectrum is first-degree assault or aggravated assault, which may seem minor in comparison to murder or homicide, but it could still result in a sentence of:
- Over 10-years in prison
- A $50,000 fine
Repeat offenders could face life in prison.
How Our Assault Attorney Can Help
What happens if we take your case? Our assault and battery lawyers will diligently prepare a tactical defense that fits the specific needs of your case. We will strengthen your defense by working with investigators, researching every detail of your charges, interviewing witnesses, and collecting information from the police to make sure they are doing their job correctly.
We are ready to fight for an acquittal or a dismissal of your charges, strategically crafting the best possible defense. Even if the evidence against you seems overwhelming, we can work tirelessly to minimize the charges and reduce the penalties you face.
Why Choose Our Kitsap County Assault Defense Lawyers?
- 30+ Years’ Combined Experience
- 1,000s of Criminal Cases Handled
- Zealous and Knowledgeable Advocacy
- FREE Consultation & Affordable Payment Plans
Find experienced defense for your assault charge today. Contact our assault lawyer in Kitsap County to schedule your 100% free & confidential consultation. We proudly serve Kitsap County, Clallam County and Jefferson County, Washington.
The attorneys at Ramirez & Cooper, Inc. have a thorough understanding of the legal proceedings and criminal statutes. We are able to give our clients the resources, advocacy and legal advice they need to be successful inside and outside the courtroom. Our legal team will stand by your side every step of the way and always keep you updated on the status of your case. We handle criminal cases throughout Washington state. Let us build a case strategy for you or your loved one, we may be able to take action before charges are even filed.
Over 30 Years’ of Combined Legal Experience
Former Prosecution Experience*
Thousands of Criminal Cases Handled
Over 1,000 DUI Cases Handled
Hundreds of Cases Tried to Verdict or Judgment
Appeared Before the Supreme Court